Help for a newbie? Introduction and here's what I'm doing so far...

booksbooks

Awards
First, let me say that I hope I'm putting this in the right place. I'm new, so I'm probably going to screw something up.

I just started lifting last July for the first time in my life. I'm 32, 6'2" and started last summer at 164#. After gaining SOME weight and strength in my first 6 months and stalling around 178#, I decided to start taking thinking more seriously. I started following Renaissance Periodization for my macro breakdown and meal planning, bumped my calorie intake from about 3K calories to 3800 on rest days and 4400 on training days. I'm now up to 195 (+31# of pretty lean muscle mass).

Here's what I'm doing supplementation as of today:

- SFH Pure Protein for my protein drinks;
- SFH Fish Oils;
- Universal Nutrition Micronized Creatine Monohydrate
- ON ZMA;
- Beta Ecdysterone (just started);
- Non-GMO Sunflower Lecithin (for the Phosphatidic Acid);
- NOW Foods Dextrose;
- EP1C Unleashed by OL;
- BCAAs (Bulk Supp);
- Quercetin Dihydrate (Bulk Supp);

Any recommendations?

BRUstrong

BRUstrong

Awards
  • Established
What are your goals? And I'd drop the dextrose and replace it with real food (same results, but so much more enjoyable)

booksbooks

Awards
What are your goals? And I'd drop the dextrose and replace it with real food (same results, but so much more enjoyable)
The dextrose isn't that bad. I do it for intra and post workout in my protein drink. Can barely tell it's there. I just have a hard time eating real food and not feeling it coming back up when I'm squatting or deadlifting heavy. Heck, even on some of the Oly lifts.