NEED SLEEP...

Thelux14

Awards
So most of my life i have been a non sleeper. i could sleep an hr every 2 days and be ok, but the older i get the harder it is to function on 0 sleep. i have tried a few things to help me sleep at night and nothing works.. im a local truck driver that works nights. and i am exhausted every morning i get home. then just lay in bed looking at the wall. its getting the the point that its upsetting me. ive tried gaba and those products. some other supp companys sleep aid. i tried REM 8.0, i have taken 3 heaping scoops of that and maybe get an hr of sleep. i dont care if i have to meet someone in a parking lot and make a deal, i just need to sleep. any help with supps? been thinking of trying the black stone labs powder as well.

nicksox15

nicksox15

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Anything else that might contribute to sleep trouble? Diet, taking anything else?

kingjameskjf

kingjameskjf

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
If this has been a life long issue, I'm not so sure a supplement is the right answer. Have you ever looked into professional help? They would be your best bet to get any kind of long term resolution rather than just spending your money on hopeful temporary remedies that have largely already failed you.

Thelux14

Awards
no, i dont think anyway. my diet is done by a trainer and i take supps but its been like this for years since i was a kid...
i used to take meds from a dr and i just get used to them in a month and im back to staring at the wall. i really dont wanna go to see a sleep dr just yet.

Nyrin

Awards
Your problems sound severe enough that talking to a doctor about them is probably the right way to go.

Melatonin has had some very convincing evidence for helping a lot with shift-work-related sleep issues, which makes sense given that disruption of your normal circadian production of it leaves you all out of whack. It won't really help you get to sleep in a "knock out" way, though.