Incident at Supplement Store help

Hokutoshura

Awards
Can somebody re-align my brain for a second. I know a lot of people on here are much smarter than I am and maybe they can help my brain feel less fuzzy about something. I heard something so bad that I feel like I need to confirm that I'm not the one who's crazy.

I have a degree in nutrition, food science, and dietetics, worked for the industry for 2 years, worked in food manufacturing for 2 years, and read through these boards like I'm trying to finish a novel. Despite all that, I feel like what I've just experienced made me dumber.

I went to a certain nutrition store because they had a big 30% off everything sign outside that I thought would be advantageous to me. Sadly, I came away with nothing but a headache. The manager was working there and was talking to some customers. He insisted to them that "There are 5 forms of whey" and that if they wanted sugar free to go with isolate. That set off a red alarm. Isolate advice was sound, but 5 forms? Last I checked, there were only 3 (concentrate, isolate, and hydro) with agglomeration being a process and fractionization being another form of hydro.

He then set his sights on me as I wandered the store and asked about the 30% deal. I then asked him what the 5 forms were and he said "concentrate, isolate, hydro, casein.." he trailed off because he needed to answer the phone but didn't provide another answer when he got off the line.

Here's how the conversation went
Me- "Wait, isn't casein a different protein?"
Him- "No, it's whey. Trust me, I worked for Isopure as customer service, sales, and manufacturing. I've seen them manufacture the ion exchange protein at their facility."
Me- "Isn't casein separated from the whey as part of the process? I swear that casein is a different protein altogether."
Him- "Nope, it's the same. Just a different kind of whey."