Liver and kidney damage due to supplements?

loydy

Awards
I am a 23 year old male and have recently started taking a few supplements, I have been bodybuilding for around 18 months. Some of the supplements I take range from:
Jacked, protein, animal stak, GABA, bcaa pills, glutamin, creatine and recently started universal natural sterol pills.
I also take some milk thistle and multi vitamins to try and support my liver ect. And about 5 liters of water a day.
My question is could these items be doing irraversable damage to my liver or kidneys?

UncleWade

UncleWade

Awards
  • Established
It is highly unlikely that any of these substances would do irreversible damage to your liver or kidneys.

Some of the supplements you take are less-than-desirable from a cost:effect perspective (Jack3d, glutamine, sterol pills, et cetera) but from a health standpoint they should not hurt you. The most concerning things for liver/kidney health are typically anabolic compounds such as PH/AAS.

While you shouldn't have a concern about kidney/liver damage unless you have a pre-existing medical condition, should you decide that the general health benefits of liver support supplements are worth it, SNS makes Liver Assist XT which has a healthy dose of NAC - a compound great for many general health benefits and one of my favorites for health support - that might fit your needs.

R1balla

R1balla

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
first off your liver can heal itself unless it basically stops working. second, those supplements wont harm you. i like to take breaks from all supps tho

loydy

Awards
Oh ok, thanks, so even taking three scoops of jacked and the sterol pills and animal stak in a day should be ok?
Also what would you recommend to replace thease items for a more effective?

ForAnAngel

Awards