GI Problems

zwa004

zwa004

Awards
I've been drinking protein shakes for 7-8 years now. For the last 2 weeks I get very bloated and nauseous in my stomach and what feels like my upper intestines at least 2 hours after drinking a shake. It's bad enough to where I can't eat for the duration of the problem.

Shake consists of:
2 scoops ON extreme milk chocolate whey
2 servings egg whites
12 oz of either almond or soy milk

I switched to ON since I loved my first try late last spring. I've tried sipping the shake, switching shakers, and mixing in a blender all to no avail. I have also increased my protein intake in the last 3 months by 2 extra protein shakes, totaling 3 a day. This is driving me crazy, and I'd appreciate any input.

mattrag

mattrag

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Drop the soy milk, and get on a quality probiotic. I'd suggest gut health. It's a little more expensive but that blend has helped a lot. Only you probably would have to take it for s little while before you see good results. And since the shakes or something you're eating killed then you'd probably have to run it in cycles. Like two months on the one on, one off. I'd run it straight through but I'm not that rich...

analogsubstnz

analogsubstnz

Awards
Psyllium husk. At night, drink lots of water or it'll have the opposite affect

gymrat827

Awards
  • Established
get a probiotic, after using it for 2wks things should be GTG. A digestive enzyme may also be needed. Last, cut the soy milk in half, 6oz at the most.

MidwestBeast

MidwestBeast

AnabolicMinds Site Rep
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Good advice in here, already.

I agree with all of it and if anything, eliminate one thing at a time over a week or so and see what happens. I'd ditch the soy milk first. What you blend or mix it in shouldn't make a difference.

criticalbench

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Pro biotics and digestive enzymes should help out.

Mike

zwa004

zwa004