Food Additives in Supplements. Why?

Vegking

Awards
Most of us taking supplements are trying to be healthy. However, I noticed a lot of supplement companies are putting so much other stuff in. For example, when reading the ingredient list on some of this stuff, why is there food dyes in put in? Yellow #6, Yellow # 5, Blue 1 and 2, Red dye # 40 ect... And don't give me this crap the FDA okayed it. I work in the food industry and I know how things work. Let just say that organization has it's fair share of problems. Politics play a role and that effects how they do things. Anyway, on some of this stuff, I just do not see the need to put these dyes and other additives in the supplement especially when the stuff is suspect.

bdcc

bdcc

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I agree with this 100%. I do not like unnecessary food dyes, colourings, sweeteners etc. I understand there is a market need for things to look and taste amazing and that ultimately trumps it.

Mark Schauss has made comparisons between food dyes and paint. Some coloured capsules taste like a tub of paint smells when you leave it on your tongue.

Personally I would prefer clear capsules. There is information out there on food dyes and studies in rodents linking to kidney, testicle and bladder damage. Why bother colouring capsules if you don't have to?

Torobestia

Torobestia

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I completely agree. I'd rather not drink fluids that look neon blue or red from dyes. Props to those not using food dyes, which afaik is done only by some companies doing bulks.

nattydisaster

nattydisaster

PESCIENCE.com
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established