Whats a good starting supplement

adoring

Awards
I am new to lifting and I want to take something thats going to help me lose pounds and help me with energy and recovery. I am doing mostly upper body right now every 3 days and 30 min cardio about 4 times a week , my diet is getting better but just want to know what to take to help without thowing my money away, any help would be great.

ws65

ws65

Awards
  • Established
If it were me, I would do full body workouts using the big compund movements with as little rest as you can stand between sets. Using the big movements uses more muscles to complete the movement, which will help burn more calories. You said you do mostly upper body...no, no, no...you really need to do squats as well.
Supplements aren't really going to help till you get your diet down pat; and you said your's is "getting better"...get it dialed in completely before you even think of sups. Eating 6 smaller meals a day will also boost your metabolism, which helps you burn more fat and gives you more energy.
Vets, step in here and correct me if I'm wrong and/or add to what I've suggested.

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I am new to lifting and I want to take something thats going to help me lose pounds and help me with energy and recovery. I am doing mostly upper body right now every 3 days and 30 min cardio about 4 times a week , my diet is getting better but just want to know what to take to help without thowing my money away, any help would be great.
You're NEW to lifting. You DON'T need any supplements aside from the staples (creatine, multivitamin, good fats, protein powder, BCAAs).

You want to "lose pounds"; as suggested, start adding in LEGS. Squats and deadlifts are the exercises that stimulate the greatest release of testosterone and Growth Hormone, which will aid in muscle gain and fat loss.