Can one go to the gym too much?

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'11"  220 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    8.38%

Can one go to the gym too much?

Ive been working out now for about three months, with my schedule I am able to go to the gym about 6 out of 7 days. Heres my typical run: WO1 bis and tris for 40 min, WO2 chest for 40, and WO3 back and shoulders...all with 40 mins of cardio w my heart rate between 151 and 165 at the end of the work out, and then 100, 80, 60, 40, 20 situps on the swiss ball. My body seems to react better when I do 2 days WO and one day off as opposed to 6 days in a row. I guess Im looking to mix it up a little.

2. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'10"  217 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    1.58%

Shouldn't this be in the training forum?
  3. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'10"  200 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    85.03%

my stand as bodybuilding (don't know what your goals are) with 'proper' diet and nutriton i.e lots of cals, you can train the same group every 3 days. i don't recommend doing this consistently though as you will wear down more and more quickly and put a toll on your CNS.

with that out of the way i like to do on 3 off one but no ones perfect. on 2 off 1 is really what i need to do as you are but i am a hermit and work and train is all i do or want to for that matter

resting
    •   

4. New Member
    Stats
    5'11"  169 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    50.64%

You can easily over train your body. It needs rest!

What are your goals first off?

I'll give you a little general info.

Split looks ok if you feel that each muslce group is fully ready when you use it. Mostly go by feel and listen to what your body is telling you.

If your still sore from another workout and have to use part of that muscle group for another day it might be best to just save it and give yourself time to rest.