My entire body lifts when I shake. Why?

Shanamana

Shanamana

Awards
Hi guys, noob here. I've been seriously lifting (mostly compound workouts) only for a few months now, but I'm by no means skinny or weak, and yet even when I'm squatting just the barbell alone for example, my whole body shakes. It's most noticeable in my core, arms, and knees.

This has always been the case by the way, even when I would lift in high school.

I suppose the obvious answer would be that I'm very weak, but I highly doubt it's that (but could be). Any thoughts on why this is? Are there others who would shake in the past but managed to overcome it? Any tips on what muscles I should perhaps target to resolve this problem?

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sdog77

Sdog77

Awards
  • Established
Could be due to new stimuli to the Central Nervous System. That would particularly happen with free weight moments/weight your not used to doing.

Yes, you can improve this through using more free weight movements (at least through my experience)

Hyde

Hyde

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
Weak is a very relative term.

Some guys will always shake when doing a heavy lift, but if you shake while doing all lifting that is something special. If it doesn't hurt you though I wouldn't let it deter you.

POWERSHARK

POWERSHARK

Awards
Im assuming has to do with CNS always happens on my bench when im fatigued or just hurting from training heavier the load my arms shake like crazy.

BennyMagoo79

BennyMagoo79

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Best Answer
Its pretty normal mate. It means you are really pushing yourself towards overload. Standby for gainz.

B

brr2111

Awards
I wouldn't be worried about it... I actually think it's amazing that your entire body lifts when you shake

Shanamana

Shanamana

Awards
Weak is a very relative term.