Hips rising too fast on deadlift?

Tanner125

Tanner125

Awards
Hey guys, im having trouble trying to correct my form on the deadlift. Im fairly new to deadlifting but really want to improve on it in any way i can . Im 179 lbs and i max out deadlift at 420 lbs. i tend to straighten my legs before my back and it really looks like a straight leg deadlift.i haven't hurt my lower back, but I really don't want to because I'm really trying to progress with deadlift. Any of you guys have any suggestions i can try to fix this? Maybe its just a weaker back or legs? I did my first competition yesterday that i wasn't ready for at all , but id really like to get competitive and i feel like my form could be holding me back. Please fill me in on what is should focus on and things i should try , thank you! I tried posting a video but it says i need at least 20 posts before i can post media?

rreal_natty

rreal_natty

Awards
Hey guys, im having trouble trying to correct my form on the deadlift. Im fairly new to deadlifting but really want to improve on it in any way i can . Im 179 lbs and i max out deadlift at 420 lbs. i tend to straighten my legs before my back and it really looks like a straight leg deadlift.i haven't hurt my lower back, but I really don't want to because I'm really trying to progress with deadlift. Any of you guys have any suggestions i can try to fix this? Maybe its just a weaker back or legs? I did my first competition yesterday that i wasn't ready for at all , but id really like to get competitive and i feel like my form could be holding me back. Please fill me in on what is should focus on and things i should try , thank you! I tried posting a video but it says i need at least 20 posts before i can post media?
How's your squat?

herderdude

herderdude

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
You need to think about pushing your heels down through the floor and falling back, rather than trying to pick the bar up off of the floor.

Tanner125

Tanner125

Awards