Road to Derby Cup Championships (Lizking’s 1st meet)

LizKing531

LizKing531

Awards
Thanks to the motivation & knowledge I’ve gotten from my AM brethren, it’s about time to put this training to work – stepping up to do my first meet.

The meet is the APA Derby Cup Championships here in Louisville – 2/22/14 – just about 6 weeks out. I’ve been working thru 5-3-1 for about 10-11 months now. I finished the year out with theoretical 1RM of 455-DL, 295-Bench, 350-Squat. My goal was to end the new year with a 300-lb bench on paper & I just squeaked that in my last workout of the year. Granted those are on paper - I have not gone for a legit 1RM, as I work out at home with no spotter (however I did upgrade and put a full rack in my basement over the winter). Hence part of the draw to enter this competition. I just recently ordered a 10mm Inzer belt (god I hope I got the right size – pants are loose @36waist, so I ordered medium?) & wrist wraps (20in Inzer Gripper), but still waiting for them to show up. My current weight is 195, shot up starting in Oct after spending the better part of last year hovering at 180 – I’m assuming I should just go for 198, instead of messing around with trying to get in 181.

A couple questions to start:

Shoes – what to get? I lift barefoot, occasionally in 5-fingers – can/should I wear those, Chucks, or is there a better shoe you’d recommend?

Singlet – recommendations – where to buy, anything I should be looking for?

Knee wraps – wasn’t planning on it, but any reason I should/shouldn’t?

How do I structure my 5-3-1 for going into a meet? - Should I just buy the 5-3-1 for Powerlifting & read it real it real quick?

Openers/2nd/3rd attempts – I have no idea how to pick these – given that I haven’t ever hit these 1RM, do I make those the 3rd attempt or wait until closer?

herderdude

herderdude

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
First! Let do this!

herderdude

herderdude

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established