1. Board Sponsor
    Stats
    5'7"  230 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    48.92%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

Ideal Rest period for Deadlift?

So I've been deadlifting for little over a year now and depending on the routine i see different rest periods. So far what seems to work best for me resting from 5-10 minutes even up to 15 when going heavy deadlift. What i have noticed is that I get the most gains when i hit fewer reps, higher weight, longer rest.

Now is this because im still relatively new to deadlift or making sure you rest properly between sets the way to really boost your deadlift?

The rest of my back lifts i dont need to rest as much (i.e. bent over row, pull down, pull up, seated row etc).

Some advice for this newbie?

2. New Member
    Stats
    6'0"  205 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    51.81%

lifting a few reps of the highest weight you can handle is the quickest and best way to achieve gains in terms of upping the weight you're capable of lifting.

generally 5 minutes is the minimum when lifting like this. but if 15 minutes is what it takes for you to lift your best then go ahead. deads hit many more and larger muscles than what you're dealing with in the exercises you described as not needing to rest as much for. you'll up the weight faster repping 455x3 w/ 10-15 min rest than you will repping 365x8 w/ 5 min rest. just do whatever it takes to help you get the heavy wt is what im saying.
  3. New Member
    Stats
    5'11"  215 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    59.33%

after 5 minutes your body has recruited as much muscle fiber as its going to. this sounds like a mental thing to me. Id keep my rests between 3-5 minutes on heavier weights at 80% of your rep max and higher. And dont physch yourself out, dont even think about it just grip and rip. lift the light weights like their heavy and lift the heavy weights like their light.
    •   

4. Advanced Member
    Stats
    6'3"  255 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    15.61%