To much protein is there such a thing

Loganm90

Awards
I've been lifting for 5-6 years now & I'm still Making steady gains I usually take in about 250-300 g protein/day I'm weighing in right at 200lbs right now but over the years I've had some ppl try and tell me that your body can't process anything more than 100g/day or around there and the rest just gets wasted idk I've never seen any research to back that statement but just curious if anybody's heard that before

bell1986

bell1986

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
It will process it all but your body can also convert protein to glucose ie gluconeogenisis.. So it utilises whats needed but it can also convert and store the extra as fat. I think too high a protein can have negative effects on the kidneys? But.. Maybe only for some. 200 gram would be just as beneficial and fill those extra calories in with carbs or extra healthy fats?

Firreozkan

Firreozkan

Banned
Awards
You should be fine with 0.82g/lbs of bodyweight. I'm fine at 150g per day, even when cutting, I'm looking full as f and staying real strong while leaning out! Even might get stronger! Now I am bulking and upping my kcal, so I like to up my protein too, I don't count now, but I'd say 200+.

omega_spartan

Awards
High protein diets will only really cause issues in people with a history of medical issues in the kidneys. If you’re healthy you will be fine and the body will utilize what it needs and as bell1986 said, convert protein to glucose through gluconeogenesis and either get utilized as energy, converted to glycogen or stored as fats.

AntM1564

AntM1564

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
When bulking, protein intake can be lowered. As mentioned, there are studies showing .82g/lb is fine. I prefer higher protein when cutting, no more than 1.5g/lb though. After that, I wouldn't say it is useless, but your wallet will hate you. Protein sources are more expensive than fat and carb foods.

Loganm90