Does "Clean eating" help build muscle?

H

hambone2493

Awards
  • Established
I've been looking on Google for the better part of an hour and most articles will say moderation is key and even "clean" foods like fruit can make you fat. So it's wise to balance macronutrients and keep an eye on the calories.

But my real question is: "Will eating the proper macronutrient/micronutrient values of "clean" foods build more muscle than the same amount of macro/micro nutrients of "dirty" foods?

And if so by what mechanism?

I've been training for 7 years now (I'm 19) and I really want to maximize my time and efforts in the gym.

K

Killcure666

Awards
Think of nutrition as a pyramid.

Base layer, which will be the largest determinant of your results in energy balance. Calories in vs calories out.

Next would by macronutrients balance

Next micronutrients

Next meal timing

Lastly supplements, which will have a minimal impact on your results. Focus on calorie balance, then macros, then micros.

K

Killcure666

Awards
I don't exactly know what you mean by clean foods, but more natural whole foods and vegetables will provide more micronutrients such as vitamins and minerals which help optimize enzyme function, since many are enzymatic cofactors, and this can help you make gains!

H

hambone2493

Awards
  • Established
I've been looking on Google for the better part of an hour and most articles will say moderation is key and even "clean" foods like fruit can make you fat. So it's wise to balance macronutrients and keep an eye on the calories.

But my real question is: "Will eating the proper macronutrient/micronutrient values of "clean" foods build more muscle than the same amount of macro/micro nutrients of "dirty" foods?

And if so by what mechanism?

I've been training for 7 years now (I'm 19) and I really want to maximize my time and efforts in the gym.