Trying to design a meal plan to follow

Chevyz28

Awards
Hi guys, I've been lifting for a long time. I haven't seen the results I'd like and I really want/need things to change. I think my biggest issue is that I don't eat enough carbs and that I focus solely on protein and calories. I've been lifting for around 5 years, with a year off after some injuries and I lost a ton of weight but I've been back in the gym for about a year. Currently at 160 lbs and I am following Layne Norton's PH3 workout plan.

My goal is to figure out exactly what I need so that I can make an excel spreadsheet with a diet plan. I really want to nail down my diet and see better results. Primary goals are weight gain and strength with the big 3, although I'd like to stay relatively lean.

What should my macros look like? Using the IIFYM calculator I ended up at 19% protein, 17% fat, and 64% carbs. This ended up being 160g protein, 63g fat, 538 carbs, and 3350 calories. Does this sound accurate? I've always had trouble gaining weight even when my calories were north of 3400 (if my weight gainer shake's nutritional values or at all accurate..) 160g of protein doesn't sound like much to me, and 538 carbs sounds like a lot.

lifted67

lifted67

Awards
  • Established
I like to run as close to 40/40/20 as I can during a bulk.

If you're looking to keep carbs way up buy a decent rice cooker and like 5-10lbs of brown rice (and white rice-post workout). It's dirt cheap and they last forever.

1-1.5 cup(s) of oats in the morning mixed with a good tasting protein powder and some natty PB is great for calories and carbs.

Potatoes!

You can make steak, egg, and cheese omelets and put them into Tupperware for easy reheat later if you need to eat on the go.

Lots of options if you can find a good grocery store to grab food. (See if there is a GFS) in your area.