Why do so many young guys abuse alcohol when they lift?

QUADMONSTER

QUADMONSTER

Banned
Awards
So I am just wondering why so many guys in their early or mid 20's continue to abuse alcohol on a regular basis?

Are these guys just looking for beach bodies and don't really want to take it to the next level? Or are many of them ignorant to the fact of what alcohol does to your body when it comes to lifting and growing?

I for one would never think of abusing alcohol. And on top of it, many of these guys are on gear and still continue to drink like crazy. I don't understand what they are trying to accomplish. Is there main goal just to look good in the club and not compete?

Abe Lincoln

Abe Lincoln

Awards
  • Established
Not everyone wants to compete, some would just want a beach looking body. That is fine. Personally I don't touch alcohol.

QUADMONSTER

QUADMONSTER

Banned
Awards
Abe I don't touch alcohol either. Been on that path when I was younger (Before I started lifting thank god) and now that I spend so much time in the gym I would never think of drinking something that could be detrimental to my gains. Working too hard and investing too much money to **** it up! That's right.

In my opinion anyone can look the best in a room of drunks. Put me on a stage among guys who compete and hand me an award and then that is something to be proud of in my personal opinion as an individual. That is what I am going for and it is my goal. I do everything to extremes when I get involved in something. Can be dangerous OCD so I do my best to involve myself and around positive activities and people.

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
I was against drinking and lifting until god blessed us with the Jersey shore...
:-/

QUADMONSTER

QUADMONSTER

Banned
Awards
Or Joey Kovar!

Do you know how many times I have heard from people "Oh he drank like crazy! Looked good so I can do the same!"

Well now he is dead. RIP.

Abe Lincoln

Abe Lincoln

Awards
  • Established