Rolling Questions

1. Advanced Member
    Stats
    6'3"  250 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    15.05%

Rolling Questions

I've been doing the grappling thing for four or five months now, about once a week. It's an army combatives program, but I go at night when it's basicly an open mat type of thing after you get the basics down. We occassionly get some good instructors to come in, or guys who know their ****, or guys learn something knew and share it. Most of the time is spent rolling, which I'm pretty much sick of doing most every week, I'd rather drill.

Most of these guys at the night classes, 4 or five guys, come in 2-3 times a day almost every weekday and have been for a six months or more. One guy was a wrestler and another guy had BJJ experience before this. Most of them are cool about everything. A few things are frustrating the crap out of me, though, and I'm looking for some advice.

One thing is, like I said, we mainly spend our time rolling. I don't know if it's because these guys drill during the other sessions, or what, but I'd rather get the physics down than try to figure things out while I'm going. Nobody seems to want to work on takedowns or clinches very much and those are things I've never really had to do before.