$10000 Medical Bill - Whaaaaaattt!

MashedPotato

MashedPotato

Awards
  • Established
Hey guys,

Just getting my bills in from my hospital stay (the one where my cat ate my hand).....

And its totalling about $7000 for 2 days in hospital and $3000 for doc and labs fees.

What pssed me off is that this doctor would come in every day and say "hi , how are you feeling today" "i'd say "fine" or whatever, and i had to pay for that!!!!! whaattt!!!

"how are you feeling today?"
:stick: *poke pole*
"thats $150 please".

Anyway, I cant get insurance (medical history etc...) and im a student....they expect me to pay all this monies, but obviously I cant.

Anyone know how i can negotiate a lower bill, any tricks, any where i can go for help, charities etc...

They want me to pay $500 per month, but I SERIOUSLY cannot afford that! :whiner:

Reps for serious help!

crader

crader

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
On the back of the bill there should be a number you can call . There is a chance they will write off some of the bill.

In Hulk

In Hulk

Awards
My g/f just had a tumor removed about a month ago, her bill is around $65,000 total. Luckily she was under her mother's insurance... The surgeon alone charged $23,000.

But yeah, same thing. She's got charges from doctors doing quick "checking in" on her during her stay that cost 500 dollars per visit from them. Sh*t's ****ing ridiculous.

Dr Packenwood

Dr Packenwood

Awards
  • Established
Plead poverty. In alot of cases, and with alot of various companies, they will take what you can give them, over spending 10x that amount to take you to court. In your case it would'nt be small claims.