Calling all cops...

Korrupted

Awards
Anyone here in law enforcement, if so I have a few ?'s for you. Here is the deal... I wanted to be a cop since junior year of H/S after I went to the Police and Fire acadamies. I wanted to be firefighter since I was little but my H/S resource officer showed me the light When I graduated I tested to be a Police Trainee for the Phoenix P.D. but I missed my sit ups by 2 but I passed everything else w/ flying colors. So basically I let it get the best of me and didn't re-try and got complacent w/ my job. I have been training off and on since then and for the past 6 months I have been training my ass of to get back in shape to re-test. I figure it's now or never and I really don't wanna be a office ***** for the rest of my life. I am more than ready for the tests now and was wondering if you guys had any suggestions to help me get my foot in the door or any other advice you can think of. I plan on trying out around August or September. If you don't want to post here please p.m. and I will keep your S/N anonnymous. Thanks for the help!!!

Jayhawkk

Jayhawkk

Legend
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
Never shoot for the minimum in the events. You want to show you're willing to give it all you got. They're looking for heart and dedication as well as determination. Most officers get hired after their 2nd to 4th try. Rare you get in on the first. Go in there ready to blast the hell out of those sit ups so they know you overcame your weakness to be in that dept.

If you haven't been through the poly/mental/interview yet then there's a couple of suggestions.
Poly
1. Poly. No matter how small and no matter how far back if you are able to remember something it asks on the sheet then put it down and the situation regarding it. I've known guys to fail the poly on sexual crimes because he remembered during the interview that he saw his cousin naked when he was a kid. Luckily at that moment he was able to adjust and passed.