Does a degree really matter anymore?

Page 1 of 20 123 ... Last
  1. Does a degree really matter anymore?

I am in a situation where I have a degree in Accounting but my experience is not long enough (4 years), so I am put into this entry level position where I am competing with those who have experience but no degree. I understand that I have to work my way up, but why does a company ask for your degree if they are not going to pay you for having one?

It makes me question if I want to continue my education. I donít want to be in debt just to find a job making less than what my tuition cost me. I donít know, Iím in a rut.

Also, my coworker questioned me about my degree. She didnít believe I had one because she wanted to take the same classes I had taken and asked me to show her my courses online. Surprisingly, the site was down that day and I told her that I would get it for her later. A few days later she told my boss that I did not have my degree and no experience. My boss took her words and I was let go without any questions. I just said thank you and packed my stuff and left. And this is why I am asking this question. Does it really matter anymore?
    If I live every moment believing, then the chaos in my heart will be a beautiful thing.-
    I am in love, but not in love with someone or something, I am in love with my life. And for the first time, in a long time, everything is inspiring.-

2. Most places I see a degree is required as well as experience. Therefore the entry level position you are in is preparing you for the much more successful future you will have. Get some real world experience under your belt and you will get whatever you apply for assuming all other aspects of you aren't unhireable. Lol

Edit: Just read you have 4 years experience in the field already. Odd that it would need more. Maybe try applying elsewhere.
    PEScience Representative
    http://pescience.com/insider http://facebook.com/pescience
    •