Why I started lifting

brenthebdog

brenthebdog

Awards
I'll be turning 30 in few months, and that will mean I've been lifting for more than half of my life. I've hit my genetic limit on what dedicated and consistent training can do for my body. My stats are 5'9'' 175 with about 12-15% bodyfat, all of this starting out at about 130lbs. Whenever I think back to what I was as a high school freshman and especially when I see old pictures I can't help but laugh a little bit; a skinny teenager with a potbelly and a buzzcut. Although I wasn't physically impressive I could run fast and play baseball like a champ and had watched the Semifinals and Finals of the 2002 Men's NCAA Lacrosse Tournament and knew I had to play the game. My first introduction to Lacrosse was a rude one much like my introduction to football in 8'th grade being the smallest and most in-experienced guy on the team - only worse! All of the guys were brutal and hateful and hit each-other like their dad's were there watching them sternfully in disappointment. What that first practice taught me was that I needed much more muscle and much more strength or these animals were going to kill me. And that brings me to my first gym.

That hilariously small gym is located in the old Evergreen Rec Center and is at the top of a long flight of stairs. The very first lift I did was bench press, then squats, and of course - bicep curls. My Rocky-esque training montage would have been pretty ****ing boring because it would have been pretty much those 3 exercises and a whole lot of trail running. After about 2 years this small weight room was cramping my style and I moved up to 24hr Fitness once I got my first car. Now, for those who condemn this corporate Globo gym it holds a special place in my heart because of all the late nights I spent here making real progress, this is the place where I started deadlifting.