What's Your Motivation?

mountainman33

mountainman33

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Hi Everyone,

Starting this thread because sometimes we need reminders as to why we're chasing a goal. I know we all have goals here, adding mass, losing weight, getting strong, shredding up, but what is really driving you? A bad break up? A childhood dream? Trying to show those people from high school they were wrong? What is that laser focus that got you started and keeps you in the iron game?

I'll start (obviously):

I initially started because I was the skinny kid in school, I graduated from high school at 5' 11", 135 lbs. I made it my mission through college to change that. 2 years and 50 lbs. later I was 6', 185 lbs. By senior year I was 6' 1", 196 lbs. Worked my tale off for volleyball to be one of the best outsides on the east coast.

My latest motivaion however is for a much different reason. About 2-1/2 years ago my step-son was molested by a family member, but we only found out about it last spring. There was law enforcement involved, investigations, and court appearances and such. When all was said and done the perpetrator got off scott free because he had a TBI (traumatic brain injury) and was found incompetent to stand trial due to the fact that he "can't distinguish between right and wrong". And because Vermont doesn't have a law on the books to address that, he walked. The worst part is that his family feels THEY got justice and THEY were the victims. I forgot to mention, this person also coerced a 12 year old girl to have sex with him, among other things. His family, especially his father, see us as the bad guys and have made threats towards us, and generally tried to intimidate my family.

My goal/motivation: