What Anti-Virus Program Do You Use?

  1. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    What Anti-Virus Program Do You Use?


    What anti virus program do you use on your PC? Right now, Im using Norton2004. I dig it, but it seems like its kind of a resource hog. I get some very slight 'jumping' in FarCry when Norton is running on autoprotect, and Im running a decently fast system. (AMD64 3200+, 1GB DDR400, ATI Radeon9800XT)

    When I shut Norton down, its smooth as silk. Im looking for a program that operates just as well at detecting virii but dosent infiltrate so much of my OS.

    Any suggestions?

    BV

  2. Registered User
    TheChosen1's Avatar
    Stats
    5'11"   lbs.
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    52
    Posts
    155
    Answers
    0

    Cool


    I use Norton too but it doesn't seem to catch any Trojans.
    Go to www.grisoft.com and download the AVG anti-virus (free version) or www.nai.com and download the Stinger. You'll have to download the Stinger in a floppy disc though.
    TheChosen12012 A.P.F California State Champion& 2 Class Record Holder (Deadlifts)
  3. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Ive heard of AVG - how is it on system resources?
    •   
       

  4. Registered User
    TheChosen1's Avatar
    Stats
    5'11"   lbs.
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    52
    Posts
    155
    Answers
    0

    Cool


    It's pretty good. It doesn't use up too much space on your hard drive. I used it for about a year before buying the Norton Internet Security, which I later removed anyway.

    Another very good anti-virus that I've used is Kaspersky AV. If it finds a virus, it will disinfect the file. If it can't be disinfected, you can delete the whole file. But in that case, you'll have to be careful as to what file you delete.
    TheChosen12012 A.P.F California State Champion& 2 Class Record Holder (Deadlifts)
  5. Registered User
    Sir Foxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Age
    44
    Posts
    892
    Answers
    0

    I just replaced Norton with Panda AV. Panda immediately found two trojans that Norton has somehow missed. Norton is a shadow of its former self. Go with Panda and spring for the Platinum edition which includes the Panda Firewall.
  6. Registered User
    TheChosen1's Avatar
    Stats
    5'11"   lbs.
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    52
    Posts
    155
    Answers
    0

    Cool


    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Foxx
    I just replaced Norton with Panda AV. Panda immediately found two trojans that Norton has somehow missed. Norton is a shadow of its former self. Go with Panda and spring for the Platinum edition which includes the Panda Firewall.
    Good idea, SirFoxx.
    That's exactly what I'm talking about. When I was using Kaspersky (a German company), I got the same results. I remember one weekend, I picked up 31 Trojans (I think from emails) and Kaspersky wiped them all out.
    TheChosen12012 A.P.F California State Champion& 2 Class Record Holder (Deadlifts)
  7. Registered User
    BigTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Age
    60
    Posts
    35
    Answers
    0

    [QUOTE=Rogue Drone]Disabling Java and Active X in IE is a generally good security measure to guard one from virii, worms,spyware,browser highjacks,popups,and trojans. [QUOTE]

    In addition to a good virus scanner I'd suggest these 2 programs for trojans, data miners, spyware, and general scumware.

    Adaware
    http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

    and

    Spybot 2
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html
  8. Registered User
    jweave23's Avatar
    Stats
    6'0"  237 lbs.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    2,628
    Answers
    0

    I run AVG or Symantec Corporate edition, they both work wonderfully and don't hog resources like the Norton products (although Symantec is the parent company of Norton). McAfee is complete **** IMO. AVG is about as good as you'll get for free.
  9. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Thanks for the input guys, Im trying AVG right now. I can't believe what a hog Norton is. Windows runs OK when auto-protect is enabled, but you can definately see performance lag in games.
  10. Registered User
    Sheesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    527
    Answers
    0

    I don't settle for any less than Panda Antivirus. It's simply the best. It's much better at finding viruses than Norton and AVG, and it also takes up alot less system resources (with auto-detect on, I just checked taskmanager - 0% CPU usage, and 12 MB ram).
  11. Gold Member
    EEmain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    882
    Answers
    0

    EZ Armor CA`s firewall and antivirus in one.

    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    is a great freeware proggie to stop spyware from even installing.
  12. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Thanks for the tip on SpywareBlaster EEMain - what a simple program! Just install and that's it.

    You know, after reading your post Sheesh I checked Task Manager - Norton autoprotect is using 0% CPU and ~5MB Ram. BUT, my peer to peer program, Shareaza, is jumping between 2% and 10% CPU usage and is using 23MB of Ram. Now that could be my system bottleneck.

    Back to system protection...I now have:

    1.)The hardware firewall on my US Robotics router
    2.)Norton AntiVirus 2004
    3.)StopZilla
    4.)SpywareBlaster
    5.)Adaware run/updated 1x a week
    6.)Spybot Search and Destroy run/updated 1x a week

    That should do me for internet protection...

    BV
  13. Registered User
    TheChosen1's Avatar
    Stats
    5'11"   lbs.
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    52
    Posts
    155
    Answers
    0

    Thumbs up


    Quote Originally Posted by Sheesh
    I don't settle for any less than Panda Antivirus. It's simply the best. It's much better at finding viruses than Norton and AVG, and it also takes up alot less system resources (with auto-detect on, I just checked taskmanager - 0% CPU usage, and 12 MB ram).
    Where can I find Panda, Sheesh?
    I've tried cnet.com and download.com but they don't list it.
    TheChosen12012 A.P.F California State Champion& 2 Class Record Holder (Deadlifts)
  14. Registered User
    Sir Foxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Age
    44
    Posts
    892
    Answers
    0
  15. Registered User
    Cogar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    387
    Answers
    0

    I've tried Norton (too much program interference) and McAfee (poor support if anything goes wrong). This year, I tried Trend Micro Internet Security (formerly PC-cillin) and so far the results seem fine. It is less obtrusive than the other programs, does not seem to affect other applications (including games).
  16. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Norton seems to working OK right now. Im going to try Panda AV though, in order to compare the two.
  17. Ectomorph man
    Bean's Avatar
    Stats
    6'2"  190 lbs.
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Age
    33
    Posts
    633
    Answers
    0

    i dont i prefer system speed over anything running in the background save for aim and my ac97 soundcard controller software...

    part of the reason my computer does a full cold bootup sequence in less than 35 seconds i dont go download stupid things and i use hotmail email which prescans for viruses and macros already... i realize the risks; but by being careful i've never ever gotten a virus except for codered; but that was a DoS-attack virus hitting IIS5, not something on my computer
  18. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Ah, but Im building this system for a friend who is *completely* computer illiterate, and this is his first system. AND he lives in Florida, and Im in NY. If his PC were to get blitzed by some dumb-ass internet infection, he'd be screwed. So Im trying to give him the best protection/performance ratio.

    BV
  19. Registered User
    aznurse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Age
    65
    Posts
    32
    Answers
    0

    Use all freeware: Spybot, Ad-aware and Zone Alarm. Also
    avoid I.E and use Mozilla. Mozilla is also freeware.
  20. Ectomorph man
    Bean's Avatar
    Stats
    6'2"  190 lbs.
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Age
    33
    Posts
    633
    Answers
    0

    i can understand that

    i have a similar system to yours
    amd64 3200+ (newcastle core), 1gig ddr400, 9800xt 256 card
    system is supa-fast I run corp edition WinXP Pro, still havent seen a computer faster than mine in general operation yet in person
  21. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    I am *very* impressed with this CPU! Only gripe I have is that the temp sensors on the motherboard (MSI K8N Neo Platinum) are all out of wack and dont read correctly. CPU idles around 40C, and yet it will show readings from 40C, sometimes flip right up to 60C. No big deal, but its annoying. Great MB otherwise, though.
  22. Doctor Science
    Board Sponsor
    LakeMountD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,253
    Answers
    0

    Laptop PC just did an article on anti-virus programs. Suprisingly PC-Cillan was the best in the tests. I have had it before and it isn't that bad on resources. I, too, am a Norton hater as it does take up infinite resources (pain in my ass).

    Bump on Spybot and Ad-Aware!
  23. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Just rebooted the system and now Motherboard Monitor 5 is reporting CPU idle at 42C!! When I shut it down, it was reporting an idle of 60C!! Im ordering a fan controller with a temp sensor, damn it!


    Laptop PC just did an article on anti-virus programs. Suprisingly PC-Cillan was the best in the tests. I have had it before and it isn't that bad on resources. I, too, am a Norton hater as it does take up infinite resources (pain in my ass).

    Bump on Spybot and Ad-Aware!
    How did norton compare in their tests bro? Im debating whether or not to take it off and try something else.
  24. Registered User
    BigTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Age
    60
    Posts
    35
    Answers
    0

    Quote Originally Posted by BigVrunga
    Just rebooted the system and now Motherboard Monitor 5 is reporting CPU idle at 42C!! When I shut it down, it was reporting an idle of 60C!! Im ordering a fan controller with a temp sensor, damn it!
    Have you tried using the MSI monitoring utility? or something other than MM5 like Speedfan?
  25. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    CoreCell (The MSI Utility) actually shows temps that are 5C above MM5's. Its odd, sometimes Ill do a cold boot and the temp will come up at what I know it is, ~40C, other times it comes up 15C higher. Right now, for instance, MM5 is showing 57C, which I know is incorrect. My system temp is a cool 29C. I can feel the heatsink and its barely warm.

    Ive read that the K8N board has has trouble with the CPU temp sensor, and some A64 chips. Sometimes a BIOS flash fixes it. In my case it didnt

    Its really not a big deal as long as the actual temp is where Iwant it, but its annoying the the system isnt 100% perfect after all the work I put into it
  26. Ectomorph man
    Bean's Avatar
    Stats
    6'2"  190 lbs.
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Age
    33
    Posts
    633
    Answers
    0

    what motherboard are you running and do you get any jump in doom3?
    i dont get any at all

    farcry ran bootiful on my pc too

    edit: just read it sorry
    i've got the Abit K87V SE.... all the goodies got a free tshirt with it and a free copy of farcry on dvd... prolly because it was with the AMD promotion i bought
  27. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    Doom3 is flawless, as is FarCry maxed out. Got my 9800Pro flashed to XT bios and overclocked to 422Core/365 Mem. Runs quite well with that mammoth Arctic VGA cooler I bolted onto it

    Hey Bean - its cool we're running basically the same system, with different motherboards. (Well this is my friend's system but I might build one for myself) Have you tried benchmarking your system with 3DMark03? Im pulling a consistent 6700. You should check it out - its a good measure of gaming performance.

    What case did you go with?

    BV
  28. Ectomorph man
    Bean's Avatar
    Stats
    6'2"  190 lbs.
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Age
    33
    Posts
    633
    Answers
    0

    i've got an antec supertower; has a 450w superquiet power supply and 4 60mm fans...
    bought it at bestbuy with my discount for like $60 or so; its the newest model; its a flatblack paint instead of gloss; i really like it
  29. Registered User
    DR.D's Avatar
    Stats
    6'0"  228 lbs.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6,779
    Answers
    0

    Avast, 60 days free trial, but you can load the newer versions every 30 days and start all over. I never end up buying one!
  30. Registered User
    Gethuge's Avatar
    Stats
    5'9"  194 lbs.
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    39
    Posts
    371
    Answers
    0

    Quote Originally Posted by BigVrunga
    What anti virus program do you use on your PC? Right now, Im using Norton2004.
    First suggestion......kill the Norton AV!! It's crap and takes up huge amounts of RAM and CPU resources.

    Get AVG antivirus. It's FREE!! It uses up very minimal amounts or processing power and is kept very up to date (even more so than norton actually). Can't beat that!
  31. -Dalla Hunga-
    BigVrunga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,064
    Answers
    0

    just a follow up - installed the 1.4 BIOS revision for the MSI K8N and now Im showing proper temps. CPU idling at 35C. Now that's not too shabby

    BV
  •   

      
     

Similar Forum Threads

  1. what kind of split do you use?
    By doingwork30 in forum Training Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 02:10 PM
  2. What incline bench degree do you use?
    By tehockey in forum Training Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-16-2009, 11:51 AM
  3. What kind of form do you use?
    By m4gnum in forum Exercise Science
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-2007, 11:58 PM
  4. what kind of oats do you use?
    By vision in forum Nutrition / Health
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 11:29 AM
  5. What % of 1RM do you use?
    By Knowbull in forum Exercise Science
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 08:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in