Anyone a Fireman/know one?

custom

custom

Awards
  • Established
I was thinking I need a career change, and I was thinking of becoming a fireman. The thing is, I have no idea about how to do it. Do I walk in city hall/ or the local firestation and just start asking questions? Anyone with any advice would be greatly appreciated.

sifu

Banned
Awards
  • Established
I know a couple, the requirements vary from city to city. Usually you take a open test with a few other hundread people, and the top scores proceed on through the hiring process, then attend the academy after you are hired.

Airport Fire safety is another avenue, or wildland firefighting.

paul3371

Awards
I was thinking I need a career change, and I was thinking of becoming a fireman. The thing is, I have no idea about how to do it. Do I walk in city hall/ or the local firestation and just start asking questions? Anyone with any advice would be greatly appreciated.
I'm a firefighter. The way i did it was I took a 9 week preservice fire academy at a local community college. After I was done with that I went on to take my EMT and paramedic course at the same college. The medic and emt class was over a year long. Many depts. require you to be a paramedic not just a f/f and EMT. Some of the bigger cities have their own academys too. You can pick up applications at the cities human resources dept. Keep a look out for ads in the paper also. A good website is www.firecareers.com it has alll the available jobs in the the US.
Just remember there is a lot of competition and they like a clean criminal and driving record. Good luck man

Cuffs

Cuffs

Awards
  • Established