Modifying Existing Program for Maximum Results

doggzj

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
I'll keep this as short as possible.

For me, I have always found myself lacking endurance. With intence activity I always seem to tire very quickly. This has directly impacted my training and I've always tried to use it to my advantage.

When I started training, I used a typical 3 day split. It was a long workout and I was always dead half way through. But this program was for football and I just remained on it and did see large jumps in functional strength and speed. After HighSchool I researched and tried to adapt my program more to my needs. Over the last year specifically I have been using Modified Max-OT style. For me this seemed to work well. Shorter workouts allowed me more energy to go all out in the few sets I did per day.

But for me, even the short 9-12 set workout didn't seem optimal. It is not full body tiredness, it is mulcular. If I bust out a hard set at bench, and often I can't do that same wieght and reps even after five minutes of rest. It gets worse when I would move on to incline. By the end of my 6 set chest day I have problems even contracting the muscle in a normal motion - it is just dead.

Even though I am seeing good progress, I feel like I could be doing it better. Being the perfectionist that I am, I would rather run than jog, so I am trying to adjust my workout and optimize it for what I need.

Below is a sample workout

CURRENT

Monday

DB Flat Bench 3x6
DB Incline Bench 3x6

Tuesday

Squats 4x5
SLDL 3x7

Wednesday (Easiest day)

EZ Bar curls 2x6
Hammer curls 2x6
Weighted crunches 2x10
Cable crunch 2x10

Thursday

Dips 3x8
Weighted Pullups 2x8
Barbell Rows 2x6

Friday

Military Press 3x6
Side Lateral Raises 2x6

--------------------------

As you can see, low volume. Here is a rough draft of a similar, new plan

--------------------------

NEW PLAN

Monday

DB Flat Bench 3x6
Hammer curls 3x6
Weighted crunches 3x10

Tuesday