Injury Question ( Forearm)

1. Registered User
    Answers

Injury Question ( Forearm)

Didn't know where to post this, feel free to move it.

I sent a PM to YJ about an injury i had to see what he had to say about it. He replied, which helped a lot.
    So i thought i would post my queston and his reply just to see what all you other guys thought.

please reply if you agree/disagree with YJ's response or if you have the same prob and went to the docs--tell what the doc said and how you deal with it.

THx a lot. Here is the question:

"in december i stopped lifting for 3 reasons

1: finals for school
    2: to get fat over the holidays
    3: because i was beginning to get REALLY sharp shooting pains down the medial ( side that is nearest the waist with palms facing forward) side of my left forearm.

I thought the pain would be gone by the time i started lifting agin after xmas. I just started up again ( had completely forgotten about the injury) and about a week into lifting it has come back FULL BLOWN!

THis pain would only occure when i would use my elbow as a pivot to lift a weight. Eg/ bicep curls and not lets say bench press.

the pain starts about an inch from the elbow to about an inch and a half from the wrist and only REALLY starts to hurt when i'm releasing the weight after i'm done the exercise.-------it is extreamly painful.

I asked a trainer at the gym, and he said it may be a pinched nerve, but its not showing signs of slowing down.
    Do you think it might be a hairline fracture?...i doubt it

anyway, just wanted to know if youve had this before, or know what it is.
    Im gonna make an appt with the doc in about a week.

THx"

Here was YJ's response:

"Pinched nerve? Holy ****, he must be ISSA certified.