Olympia Weekend Preview - AnabolicMinds.com
    • Olympia Weekend Preview

      By Andrew Oye ProSource

      The Scoop: Just Announced: Promoters of Olympia Weekend of Fitness and Performance - "Where Legends Are Made" - just posted the final competitors list of athletes that qualified to compete at the 2012 IFBB Olympia Bodybuilding Championships in Las Vegas, NV, this weekend (September 29). As reported in "Andrew Oye's Pro-Muscle Report," the following lists represent the final tallies of the newly implemented Olympia Qualification Series Point System.

      Mr. Olympia - Open Division Qualified Competitors
      IFBB Pro Baitollah Abbaspour, IFBB Pro Lionel Beyeke, IFBB Pro Evan Centopani, IFBB Pro Jay Cutler, IFBB Pro Jon Delarosa, IFBB Pro Toney Freeman, IFBB Pro Kai Greene, IFBB Pro Phil Heath, IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson, IFBB Pro Johnnie Jackson, IFBB Pro Michael Kefalianos, IFBB Pro Victor Martinez, IFBB Pro Cedric McMillan, IFBB Pro Juan Morel, IFBB Pro Essa Obiad, IFBB Pro Ben Pakulski, IFBB Pro Shawn Rhoden, IFBB Pro Ronny Rockel, IFBB Pro Fred Smalls, IFBB Pro Branch Warren, IFBB Pro Bill Wilmore, IFBB Pro Roelly Winklaar, IFBB Pro Dennis Wolf, IFBB Pro Hidetada Yamagishi.

      Olympia 212 Showdown - 212 Division Qualified Competitors
      IFBB Pro Al Auguste, IFBB Pro Lyndon Belgrave, IFBB Pro Curtis Bryant, IFBB Pro Guy Cisternino, IFBB Pro Eduardo Correa, IFBB Pro Jamal Elmadawy, IFBB Pro Kevin English, IFBB Pro Derik Farnsworth, IFBB Pro David Henry, IFBB Pro Jaroslav Horvath, IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson, IFBB Pro Raul Carrasco Jimenez, IFBB Pro Flex Lewis, IFBB Pro Stan McQuay, IFBB Pro Fernando Noronha, IFBB Pro Jose Raymond, IFBB Pro Marco Rivera, IFBB Pro Shaun-Joseph Tavernier, IFBB Pro Petr Vanis., IFBB Pro Angel Rangel Vargas.

      The "So What?": Reigning Mr. Olympia Phil Heath is going for his 2th Olympia Sandow trophy, but he will not compete against the man he took the title from last year, Jay Cutler - who opted to skip the contest this year. Other athletes reportedly skipping the 2012 Olympia for various reasons: McMillan, first-timers Delarosa, Smalls, Abbaspour and Morel, and vet Martinez (who suffered a recent injury in an arm wrestling incident in Mexico).

      Due to a knee injury, reigning Showdown Champ Kevin English will not defend his Olympia 212 Showdown title. Tavernier is reportedly also skipping the 212 contest. Though previously qualified in 2011, Centopani makes his Olympia debut, along with Obiad, in the open Division. 212 Division Olympia debuts: Belgrave, Carrasco Jimenez, Elmadawy, Farnswoth, Rivera, Vanis and Vargas.

      Andrew Oye's Verdict: Who will join the ranks of Mr. Olympia greats like IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, IFBB Pro Lee Haney, IFBB Pro Dorian Yates and IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger, among others? Phil Heath will be hard to beat as incumbents usually are. My vote for a close 2nd place is Shawn Rhoden whose physique, if peaked, is a strong representation of the criteria for an ideal Olympia physique to me. Is that likely? Whichever theories dictate that Greene, Warren and Wolf "should" place above him will prevent that. The first-ever Showdown title winner from 2008 David Henry and Correa will probably battle for the top spot in the 212 Showdown.

      Source: http://www.prosource.net/content/art...-are-made.aspx
      Comments 4 Comments
      1. RoadMapFire's Avatar
        RoadMapFire -
        Maybe this year we'll have a good stream online
      1. Torobestia's Avatar
        Torobestia -
        Dave Henry should take the 212, he's crazy looking this year.
      1. glpro's Avatar
        glpro -
        Originally Posted by RoadMapFire View Post
        Maybe this year we'll have a good stream online
        Do you know where the event may be viewed online at?
      1. RoadMapFire's Avatar
        RoadMapFire -
        Originally Posted by glpro View Post

        Do you know where the event may be viewed online at?
        Bodybuilding.com will have it.