Can't put weight on.

Kobaltic

Awards
I am now 28 years old 6' even and weigh 150 lbs. I have been lifting and dieting on and off for 10 years. I tried everything I can think of to gain weight and I only loose weight. I have taken 12 different weight gainers and protien drinks and not put on a pound. I eat all day long and eat a varity of foods, most of them healthy. I average about 2000 calories a day, I try to increase, I eat until my stomach hurts from eating too much and still nothing. I stopped exercising for about a year and a half and sat on a couch. I put on 10 lbs. I was so excited I started training hard and heavy and went right back down to 150 pounds in 6 weeks. I always have used creatine and whey. My bench and squats have gone up but not my mass. Can someone help me out? I will take supplements if they work. I have considered steroids but my wife doesn't want me to use them.

Jet

Awards
  • Established
I am now 28 years old 6' even and weigh 150 lbs. I have been lifting and dieting on and off for 10 years. I tried everything I can think of to gain weight and I only loose weight. I have taken 12 different weight gainers and protien drinks and not put on a pound. I eat all day long and eat a varity of foods, most of them healthy. I average about 2000 calories a day, I try to increase, I eat until my stomach hurts from eating too much and still nothing. I stopped exercising for about a year and a half and sat on a couch. I put on 10 lbs. I was so excited I started training hard and heavy and went right back down to 150 pounds in 6 weeks. I always have used creatine and whey. My bench and squats have gone up but not my mass. Can someone help me out? I will take supplements if they work. I have considered steroids but my wife doesn't want me to use them.
Well there's your problem, you need more cals. I'd bump up to 2750 or 3000 if you want to bulk. 2000 is barely maintenance for your weight.

You can calculate your base metabolic rate (BMR) here: