Not quite sure what to eat

bmahon

Awards
I'm looking to add some muscle mass and definition. Nothing crazy, I just want to look good and feel good. I'm 37 years old, 5'8" and 160 lbs. I understand I probably need to eat low fat, but I'm kinda of ignorant about the rest. How many calories, protein, carbs, how much fat? I'm new to training so that's why I ask. I don't want to do any damage to myself or add body fat.

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
First off calculate your TDEE, google how to do and report back with the estimated number

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
Id start at the higher number and try and consume that many cals everyday. Heres wat i do:
1gram protein per pound bodyweight
.5gram fat per pound
And fill the rest with carbs

bmahon

Awards
Id start at the higher number and try and consume that many cals everyday. Heres wat i do:
1gram protein per pound bodyweight
.5gram fat per pound
And fill the rest with carbs
Ok. Thanks. With the carbs I assume avoid sugars? Stick with mainly starches?

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
Not necessarily

roblasane

roblasane

Awards
Ok. Thanks. With the carbs I assume avoid sugars? Stick with mainly starches?
I believe in not eating anything white . People say simple carbs(sugar) post workout with fast absorbing protein(whey). To me that's bro science . If you hit your macros in a day it really doesn't matter when you eat them . IMO
I also taper carbs down during the day and try to get 0 carbs in your last meal .
Now if quick fat loss is what your looking for then ultra low carbs is the fastest route. Again IMO

bmahon

Awards
I believe in not eating anything white . People say simple carbs(sugar) post workout with fast absorbing protein(whey). To me that's bro science . If you hit your macros in a day it really doesn't matter when you eat them . IMO
I also taper carbs down during the day and try to get 0 carbs in your last meal .