A Recovering Ultra-runner

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'6"  180 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    41.59%

A Recovering Ultra-runner

I figured Iíd start my own thread since Iíve been hanging out here for a while and should probably stop hijacking other peopleís threads with my random comments. Because Iím lazy Iíll start by quoting my first post here.
    Quote Originally Posted by myself
    I turn 51 this December and only really started lifting seriously last year in December after 15+ years of ultra-running which I was getting bored with. Iíve always considered myself a ďhardgainerĒ ectomorph (I now realize I was an under-eater and poor trainer) and weighed only 113 lbs. when I joined the Marine Corps in 1982. 11 months ago I weighed 145 lbs. at 5í6Ē and after 7 months doing an HST style (followed the principles but didnít like the vanilla routine) program Iíd gained 30 lbs. up to 175 lbs. I spent some time cutting down to 165 and am trying to ďslowĒ bulk now.

Since after cutting I became sort of goalless I searched around and 5 weeks ago decided to try out a Westside Barbell routine and totally loving it (I like to plan, think and tweak). My lifts are 230 lbs. bench press @ 165, 350 lbs. squat @ 168 and 350 lbs. deadlift @ 168.

For the first time in my life had to upgrade to large T-shirts since the mediums were making every day look like ďTight-T-shirt-Tuesday.Ē My 32Ē jeans still fit in the waist but are now starting to rub the hair off the front of my upper legs.

No PH use and only limited supplement use so far but Iíve been doing a lot of reading here.

Iím certainly not ďhugeĒ but at nearly 51 I think Iím doing pretty well. My goal is to eventually get to 185-190 @ 10% BF.
    Since that post about a year ago a few things happened.