Dexter Jackson Wins 2011 IFBB Pro World Masters Bodybuilding Championships

By Andrew Oye Pro Source

The Item: IFBB Pro League Contest Results, Special Appearances

The Scoop: Just Announced: Over the weekend, 2008 Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dexter Jackson pummeled a pack of Masters-level pros, winning 1st place at the 2011 IFBB Pro World Masters Bodybuilding Championships in Miami, FL. The big “X-Man” IFBB Pro Toney Freeman was awarded with 2nd place. The 3rd place slot was filled by IFBB Pro Bill Wilmore, winner of the evening’s Best Comeback Award.

The breakdown of the remaining athletes: IFBB Pro Ed Nunn (4th), IFBB Pro Troy Alves (5th), IFBB Pro Darrem Charles (6th), IFBB Pro Tricky Jackson, winner of the Best Poser Award (7th), IFBB Pro Roland Cziurlok (8th), IFBB Pro Pavol Jablonicky (9th), IFBB Pro Lee Apperson (10th), IFBB Pro Samir Bannout (11th), IFBB Pro Stan Frydrych (12th) and IFBB Pro Andreas Cahling (13th).

The “So What?”: As previously announced in “Andrew Oye’s Pro-Muscle Report,” 2-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Larry Scott was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award by MUSCLE INK Magazine cover subject and TV’s “The Incredible Hulk” IFBB Pro Lou Ferrigno. Early reports had 2006 World Masters Champion IFBB Pro Bob Cicherillo saying he would emcee this year’s event, but IFBB Pro Shawn Ray was the Master of Ceremonies who ushered a cadre of legends to speak at the podium, including 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Lee Haney, 3-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Frank Zane, 6-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Dorian Yates and more.

Guest Posers included 8-time Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Ronnie Coleman, 1994 Masters Mr. Olympia IFBB Pro Robby Robinson and IFBB Pro Andy Haman. Other guests in attendance: MBL New York Yankee Alex Rodriguez (A Rod) and MUSCLE INK Magazine cover subject WWE Wrestling Champion Dave Bautista. Actor, musician, IFBB Pro Kevin Levrone sang the National Anthem.

Andrew Oye’s Verdict: Popular consensus is pitting currently competitive pro bodybuilders against long-retired pros can produce an “unfair fight” that yields non-surprising final results. Many also questioned the Pro World Masters Championships’ promotion as “The Return of the Legends,” given that several “legends” (a term that still needs a clear definition) did not compete. Many fans wanted to see competitors like IFBB Pro Lee Labrada, IFBB Pro Rich Gaspari, IFBB Pro Francis Benfatto, IFBB Pro Flex Wheeler and others on the stage.

In the future, one solution might be to host two classes and award two champions — an Over-40 Competitive Class and an Over-40 Retired Class. Another suggestion might be to clearly promote the Pro World Masters contest as a separate part of a larger “Celebration of Legends” event – much like the IFBB Pro Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic is a separate contest held at the larger Arnold Sports Festival.


Leave A Comment On This Article: